Skip to Search

Find help in your community by entering your zip code OR city and state.

  • Zip Code
  • City/State
Skip Navigation LinksHome > About > Aging Network

The Aging Network

The Older Americans Act of 1965 (OAA) established a national network of federal, state, and local agencies to plan and provide services that help older adults to live independently in their homes and communities. This interconnected structure of agencies is known as the Aging Network.

Individuals 60 years of age and older are eligible for services under the OAA, and priority attention is given to those who are in greatest need. The OAA, as amended, created the primary vehicle for organizing, coordinating, and providing community-based services and opportunities for older Americans and their families.

The National Aging Network is headed by the Administration on Aging. The network includes 56 State Agencies on Aging, 622 Area Agencies on Aging, and more than 260 Title VI Native American aging programs. Further, the network is supported by tens of thousands of service providers and volunteers. Additional information about the National Aging Network organizations and services is provided below: